Reviews

The Crown by Kiera Cass [Review]

Print

Title: The Crown
Author: Kiera Cass
Series: The Selection #5
Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Dystopian
Format: eBook, 352 pages
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: May 3rd, 2016
Rating: 3 out 5 stars
Goodreads Summary:

print-signs-opening-quotesKiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series has captured the hearts of readers from its very first page. Now the end of the journey is here. Prepare to be swept off your feet byThe Crown—the eagerly awaited, wonderfully romantic fifth and final book in the Selection series.

In The Heir, a new era dawned in the world of The Selection. Twenty years have passed since America Singer and Prince Maxon fell in love, and their daughter is the first princess to hold a Selection of her own.

Eadlyn didn’t think she would find a real partner among the Selection’s thirty-five suitors, let alone true love. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and now Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more difficult—and more important—than she ever expected.

 

my thoughts

In the sequel to The Heir, Princess Eadlyn Shreave is under even more pressure both from her Selection, and her people, as she struggles to strike a balance while her family recovers from the shock they experienced in the last book. Never the popular choice of a monarch, Eadlyn desperately wants to prove to Illea that she does indeed care about her country and wants to bring about change for the better. Simultaneously, she’s faced with the important decision of whom she wants to spend the rest of her life with, and whether she truly knows what love is. There is much to do and everything falls onto the princess’ shoulders to bear.

My relationship with The Selection series has always been a love-hate one. And every time I promise myself I don’t care, I actually start to. When The Heir was first announced, I immediately rejected the idea. The One’s ending was enough, there was no need for more. But I read the book anyway. I had to know. And after that ending, I had to come back for this final installment as well. I just had to.

The Crown is a book that I find very hard to review. Honestly, the whole series is quite hard for me to write about, as I never know how the scales really tip. It’s not a bad book, however, and I found it quite the fast, enjoyable read. But of course, as with every love-hate relationships, there are downsides.

The plot, I find, is just as ridiculous as its predecessors’, but perhaps that’s why I enjoy these books as much as I do. It’s neither slow, nor fast – more like a steady stream. And it’s neither action-packed, nor dull. This time around, however, there was more politics involved, which I greatly appreciated. I still found the Selection process a little too stretched, like with America’s, but it all worked out in the end.

The character development in The Crown was another good aspect. At least Eadlyn’s, since I didn’t pay attention to the rest of the characters. I never really figured out why people hate Eadlyn with such burning passion. I personally liked her. There, I said it. Yes, she’s a difficult character, but she really grows as a person, especially in this book, and she’s determined and hard-working. But even so, right from the start, she knows who she is and there’s none of that back-and-forth indecisiveness that America had. When you’re raised as a princess, being told from a very early age that there’s no one more powerful that you, a certain degree of arrogance just comes with the package. It’s not without its foundations, so at least it’s justified. And that’s not to say that Eadlyn wasn’t selfish, but we saw her go from a spoilt princess to someone fit to ascend the throne. This book, for me, was entirely Eadlyn. I am really happy with her decisions in this book, and with who she rose up to be.

The romance in this book didn’t have enough development for me to believe in it. Eadlyn came to a decision way too fast after practically an entire book of her wondering about it. It was a nice ending, don’t get me wrong, and even though the person she chose wasn’t my favourite, I’m still happy with the outcome, but I just wish we could’ve gotten a little bit more before the word ‘love’ was thrown around so religiously. Nevertheless, I absolutely adored the relationships between all the characters. The family vibes from the Schreaves warmed my heart, and the friendships forged in this book made me feel like I’m part of the gang as well.

Overall, I enjoyed The Crown and I find it a fitting conclusion to the series. Everything wraps up neatly and I’m happy with where we leave off. There has never been that much hardship in Kiera Cass’ book, for me, but sometimes we need a few lighter stories to tide us over. Despite myself, I’ve grown attached to these characters and I’m glad they all got a fitting ending.

Leave a Reply

