Reviews

Iron Cast by Destiny Soria [Review]

28818313

Title: Iron Cast
Author: Destiny Soria
Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Historical
Format: eBook
Publisher: Amulet Books
Release Date: Oct 11th, 2016
Source: NetGalley
Goodreads Summary:

print-signs-opening-quotesIt’s Boston, 1919, and the Cast Iron club is packed. On stage, hemopaths—whose “afflicted” blood gives them the ability to create illusions through art—captivate their audience. Corinne and Ada have been best friends ever since infamous gangster Johnny Dervish recruited them into his circle. By night they perform for Johnny’s crowds, and by day they con Boston’s elite. When a job goes wrong and Ada is imprisoned, they realize how precarious their position is. After she escapes, two of the Cast Iron’s hires are shot, and Johnny disappears. With the law closing in, Corinne and Ada are forced to hunt for answers, even as betrayal faces them at every turn.

my thoughts

Ada and Corinne are outlaws – hemopaths with a blood affliction that allows them to create illusions through words and music. Their line of work at the Cast Iron club is not only frowned upon, but highly illegal as well. After one of them gets arrested, the other goes on a mission to get her out before it’s too late. The mission goes off without a hitch. But then an incident at the docks occurs and two of their colleagues are shot. Then their boss, Johnny Dervish is found dead, putting the Cast Iron’s future at risk. Determined to solve what happened and keep their only haven open, Ada and Corinne go on a hunt while on the run from the law.

Let me just start off by saying, this book does not disappoint. The beautiful cover promises a beautiful book, and, boy, does it deliver. I wasn’t sure what to expect from Iron Cast, but it had a gorgeous look and the premise intrigued me just the right amount to be able to draw me in. I went with my instincts on this title and I’m not regretting it one bit.

I have to say, I’ve never read a book like this before. The concept is entirely original to me, as well as engaging as hell. I’ll admit that at first I was a bit confused, but as I read on the fog cleared and everything made sense. The writing flows very well and is not at all hard to follow once you get sucked into the story. The only thing I would’ve liked is some more backstory on the hemopaths, and perhaps what caused this “affliction” in their blood, but that’s because I’m nosy. I didn’t go out of the book with a feeling of something lacking – just the opposite. The story has a sense of completion, but leaves room for more stories to be told in the future.

Ada and Corinne are two amazing leads. They’re both realistic and well-rounded characters that drive the plot as much as the plot drives them. I found myself feeling for both of them and even at times disagreeing with one or the other. For me, if I can still relate to a character even when we have different viewpoints, then that character is most definitely well-written. Their friendship is even more amazing. I found it so admirable how devoted they are to one another, even when they’re not on the best of terms. The relationship they’ve established is one people should aspire to, not just admire.

I’m not going to say much about the romance, because while it was there, it’s not central to the plot and it, in no way, takes away from the general story. Both Ada and Corinne were focused, driven characters and their respective romantic plotlines did nothing to change that. There was also the perfect amount of angst and fluffiness to soothe my romance needs, which I greatly appreciate.

Overall, Iron Cast is a fantastic novel, and not just on the outside. The concept is my favourite part, I’m not going to lie, but Ada and Corinne’s friendship doesn’t fall far behind. I’d recommend it to fans of historical novels, the paranormal, fans of Samantha Shannon’s The Bone Season, and everyone in general.

Leave a Reply

