Reviews

The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon [Review]

cover

Title: The Sun Is Also A Star
Author: Nicola Yoon
Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Format: eBook
Publisher: Penguin Random House UK Children’s
Release Date: Nov 3rd, 2016
Source: NetGalley
Goodreads Summary:

print-signs-opening-quotesNatasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

my thoughts

Nicola Yoon’s books are definitely illustrious in the book community. I’ve heard so many things about her works that I knew sooner or later I’ll read something of hers as well. As it seems, the time has come.

The Sun Is Also A Star centers around a science-minded girl who is trying to keep her family from being deported, a romantic boy on his way to an interview, and everything in between. Natasha doesn’t believe in fate while Daniel is convinced their meeting is anything but chance. As they spend the day together, he tries to convince her that they belong together by the way of the universe. Natasha is determined not to prove him right, but as they spend the day together Daniel’s words start to make sense.

I’ve been eyeing this book for a long time, partly because of the hype and mostly because of the cover. I saw it at the city book fair’s foreign editions stall and it was in that moment that it was decided that I’ll definitely be reading it (because at least I can find a copy here, which is a rarity.) Then I saw it on NetGalley and well, here I am. (Granted, a few months late, but still here.) To be quite honest, it’s been a month and I still don’t know how I feel about this book exactly.

The writing style is nice and distinctive. It captures both Natasha’s science-oriented mind and Daniel’s poetry-inclined character perfectly without the two bleeding into each other. I also really enjoyed the added perspectives – they remind you that each person you pass has their own story to live and write about. There were also some nice science facts, which I greatly appreciated. Everything tied together very nicely.

The characters, by themselves, were well-written and I enjoyed getting to know them. Natasha’s struggle and her determination to do anything possible not to have her family deported stick out and I wish we’d gotten more of that side of the story. I enjoyed Daniel’s side as well, feeling his parents’ pressure and his internal dilemma with following through with their expectations or following his own dreams. The book looks light and fun, but it holds some real weight and its characters carry it all on their shoulders.

The reason I’m still not sure how I feel about this book is the romance part – which takes up a huge chunk. On the one hand, I found it cute and lightweight, it made me smile. But on the other hand, it was a little weird to me how all of these emotions surfaced in the span of a day. As a lover of the slowest of slow burns, this love didn’t capture me as it was intended to. I guess I’m kind of a blend of Natasha and Daniel in this case. The ending still made me tear up, so I’ve got to give bonus points.

Overall, The Sun Is Also A Star offers a little something for everyone. It’s a cute book about love, science, some quite important topics, and all the things in between. If we put the rushed romance (I’m aware it was supposed to be this way, but still) this book is quite a good read.

Leave a Reply

