Tags

The ‘School Subjects’ Book Tag

Heyo! I was tagged by TheNeverEndingStory to do the School Subjects book tag. This is a first for my blog, which is incredibly exciting! Thank you so much, Leanne, for the tag! You should absolutely go check out her own School Subjects tag and, while you’re there, her whole blog, too. *wink wink*

This tag was originally created by Not-So-Modern Girl, so remember to check out her post (and blog) as well!

Just to clarify, I know you can choose films/shows on certain subjects, but I’m going to be keeping it strictly book-ish. So without further ado, let’s get on with the subjects:


math

a book that left my head spinning in circles

30964236

Caraval by Stephanie Garber. In retrospect, this book seems pretty predictable. But while I was reading it, I had no clue of what was gonna happen, which is unusual for me because I tend to sniff out the plot twists right away. Still, Caraval was a whirlwind of a story, especially those last couple of chapters where Garber takes your head on a roller coaster ride as the twists keep coming.

english

a book i think has beautiful written expressions

27158779

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi. Listen, I don’t know about facial expressions, but this book’s, well, everything is expressed phenomenally. I could not put it down, not only because the story itself was incredibly captivating, but the language and the way Chokshi uses it was positively fantastic. The author has quite the way with words and certainly knows how to make her worlds and characters come alive and take flight.

physics

favourite scientifically-minded character

cover

Natasha from The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon. This choice isn’t the least bit surprising, given that The Sun Is Also A Star is my most recent read with a character that likes science. I related to Natasha with her pessimism re: romance and her need of having a scientific explanation to all things in life. I also really admired the determination, strength and resilience that she showed during the difficult time her family was going through.

chemistry

favourite literary couple

16069030

Kestrel and Arin from The Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski. Yes, yes, I know. Everyone is shocked and amazed! These two entered my life in early 2014 and they have refused to leave ever since. I’ve had my fair share of otps in the past but nothing can beat the true pain and love I have for Kestrel and Arin. They’re such amazing, headstrong characters and together they make the absolute perfect power couple. Your otp could literally never.

biology

favourite character

17199504

Paige from The Bone Season series by Samantha Shannon. Listen, my favourite characters list is practically endless. In fact, it’s so long I can hardly remember all the names myself. But most recently, this esteemed title went to Paige. Not that she wasn’t a favourite before, but after reading The Song Rising… I’ve said this in my review and I’ll say it again – I didn’t think it was possible to love her even more, yet here we are. She deserves a warm blanket and all the happiness in the world.

french

favourite foreign book

19302

Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren. Technically speaking, practically everything is foreign to me, but for the purpose of this tag, I’ll play along. Pippi might as well be the first book I’ve ever read. It’s certainly the first book I remember my mom buying for me. This book and all the memories that come with it are so close to my heart, it’ll remain my favourite story from my childhood forever.

art

have i ever judged a book by its cover?

Of course I have. We’ve all been guilty of this, no matter how many times its happened or how hard we’ve tried to prevent it from happening. Whether it’s picking up a book because of its cover only for it to turn out an awful read or tossing it away only to find out the story inside is actually amazing, it has happened so many times. I genuinely try to avoid passing on judgement, but I’m only human. We all are. It’s in our nature.

history

the last historical book i read

32182684

The Blazing Star by Imani Josey. Although, I don’t consider this to be an actual historical read – it’s more fantasy with some added historical elements, I haven’t actually read any historical historical books, well, maybe ever. I adore history, I love reading about history, but for some reason I haven’t picked up an actual historical book. (That reason being my distrust of the people writing them.) Still, The Blazing Star is an amazing read and deserves all the shoutouts.

geography

literary destination i would like to visit

22055262

The Londons from A Darker Shade Of Magic by V. E. Schwab. This might be a bit of a cheat because there are four cities, but they’re all named the same, so ha, I beat the system. I’m not dying of anticipation to visit Black London, but if Kell and the gang are with me then I’ve no qualms about it. And it seems I’ll soon be getting my wish, since A Conjuring Of Light came out recently and I’ll be starting it (hopefully) in the near future.

drama

a book that i found to be overly dramatic

16143347

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. This might be somewhat of an unpopular opinion, but I really can’t stand this book. I picked it up because a) all the hype and b) I needed a nice, quick read at the time. It turned out to be probably the longest read of my life. The writing style was so over the top and the main character made everything out to be an ordeal. I really hated how something as serious as PTSD was used as an excuse to write so melodramatically.


And we’re done! That was a bit exhausting to think of and then format in an aesthetically pleasing way, but it was fun nonetheless.

My least favourite part of doing tags is the actual tagging part, because I never know who to tag. So if you’ve read this far and haven’t done this yet, but would like to – consider yourself tagged!

3 thoughts on “The ‘School Subjects’ Book Tag

Leave a Reply

