Reviews

Death And Night by Roshani Chokshi [Review]

33965619

Title: Death And Night
Author: Roshani Chokshi
Series: The Star-Touched Queen #0.5
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: eBook, 115 pages
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Release Date: April 26th, 2016
Source: NetGalley
Goodreads Summary:

print-signs-opening-quotesBefore The Star-Touched Queen there was only Death and Night.

He was Lord of Death, cursed never to love. She was Night incarnate, destined to stay alone. After a chance meeting, they wonder if, perhaps, they could be meant for more. But danger crouches in their paths, and the choices they make will set them on a journey that will span lifetimes.

my thoughts

Before they donned the names of Amar and Maya, they were Death and Night – both destined to loneliness like a coat. Death is determined never to love as a curse looms upon him. Soon however it is clear that he cannot go without a wife. He makes a proposal to girl with constellations on her skin and thus begins a game that will have them chase each other across countless lifetimes.

I read The Star-Touched Queen practically the day it came out and breezed through it. Despite the little issues I had with it, it instantly became one of my favourites. I fell in love with everything – the world, the characters, the writing. The only big issue I had was that it was a stand-alone meaning we’re not getting any more of Maya and Amar. You can probably imagine how I felt when I found out about Death and Night. I’m going to try and keep this review short since this is a short novella, but I make no promises. Meanwhile, you can read my full thoughts on The Star-Touched Queen here.

Let me talk about Chokshi’s writing. It’s so melodic and so mesmerizing. The words alone are an enchantment, the worlds she creates even more so. There’s something so beautiful about her style – it’s like rediscovering a favourite song or taking a midnight walk on the beach. I can never get enough of it.

Speaking of never getting enough of things – I love Maya and Amar. There is no limit to my love for them. It simply does not exist. I loved them in The Star-Touched Queen and I loved in this little novella. It was honestly so amazing to read about them in a different setting than the ones we’ve already seen them in. They are different, yet the same. Simply put, they are amazing.

Their romance in this novella progresses more slowly than in TSRQ, which made me enjoy it all the more. It’s no secret I’m a sucker for slow-burns, especially when there’s an added “I won’t fall in love” stubbornness that always comes back to bite the character in the arse. Death and Night fed my appetite so well that I’m now stuffed to the brim.

Overall, Death and Night is a beautiful (and beautifully written) novella that shows us where the story really began all those lifetimes ago. The characters are as charming as they were in The Star-Touched Queen and, if possible, made me love them even more. The only qualms I have with this novella is that it was simply too short, I need more.

Leave a Reply

