Monthly Wrap Up

Books I read in April [Wrap Up #1]

This blog is as consistent as I am in everything in life so why not just go wild, eh? I read a bunch of books this month that I didn’t dedicate solo reviews for which makes this wrap up post the perfect opportunity to share my thoughts.

Honestly, April was a good reading month for me. I managed to read an entirety of five books, one novella and one comic book. It may not sound like a lot to you, but after barely maintaining an average of one book per month last year, this feels like a huge victory. Without further ado, let’s move on to the actual books:

29274691

The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury –  a retelling of Aladdin’s Wonderful Lamp in which Aladdin captures a powerful genie named Zahra, who now owes him three wishes. There is political intrigue, magic, romance and action. I quite enjoyed this book – it’s short and light and highly entertaining. It doesn’t make my favourites list, but the characters grew on me and I loved the setting.

 

25788430

Map Of Fates by Maggie Hall – the second book in The Conspiracy Of Us trilogy that revolves around secret societies and ancient mysteries. Our main character, Avery, is on the hunt to unravel a centuries old scavenger hunt before her time runs out and deadly consequences ensue. Listen, there’s something about these novels. Everything is so over-the-top, yet the story is the most addictive thing. And I mean I love Stellan Korolev, so.

 

27840861

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo – the second and final installment of the Six Of Crows duology. I can’t really say much about this one without spoiling the plot, but if you don’t already know what it’s about then shame on you. I love how Leigh Bardugo’s writing gets better and better with each novel. She really blows it out of the park with this one. There are so many thing I loved about this book that I might actually write a full review and incoherently yell about Kaz and the crew for a good minute.

 

21414439

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard – the first book in the Witchlands series. Safiya is a rare Truthwitch. She and her Threadsister, Iseult, get tangled in a complicated plot that involves stopping a war and keep from getting captured. I honestly don’t know what to think of this one. I enjoyed the characters enough to pick up the second one, but the writing was just downright annoying – the author has obviously never heard of pronouns.

 

23308087

Flame In The Mist by Renee Ahdieh – set in Feudal Japan, it tells the story of a girl, Mariko, who has to go undercover as a boy in order to infiltrate a local clan and find out who wants her dead. This was one of my most highly anticipated releases this year and it fell a little flat, regardless of the things I did actually liked about it. I’ve already written a full review which you can find here.

 

33965619

Death And Night by Roshani Chokshi – a prequel novella for The Star-Touched Queen. This is the story of how Amar and Maya first fell in love, back when they weren’t known as Amar and Maya, but Death and Night. It’s a beautiful novella that perfectly complements The Star-Touched Queen and offers a new perspective on a familiar setting. My full thoughts can be found here.

 

31224364

Supergirl Vol. 1: Reign of The Cyborg Supermen by Steve Orlando – a part of DC’s Rebith universe. Kara Zor-El is just getting used to life on Earth when a cyborg version of her father threatens to destroy everything. There’s a lot happening in this volume, but I found it all well-balanced. Supergirl might just be my favourite from DC and I’m glad Rebirth is giving her a good characterization so far. I really enjoyed the art style as well.

 

And that’s all I managed to squeeze in for the month of April. Hopefully May is an even better reading month. I’ve even already started on a new book (Star Wars: Dark Disciple by Christie Golden)!

What did you guys read in April?

Leave a Reply

