Reviews

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon [Review]

34793794

Title: When Dimple Met Rishi
Author: Sandhya Menon
Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Format: eBook
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Release Date: June 1st, 2017 (UK)
Source: NetGalley
Goodreads Summary:

Meet Dimple.

Her main aim in life is to escape her traditional parents, get to university and begin her plan for tech world domination.

Meet Rishi.

He’s rich, good-looking and a hopeless romantic. His parents think Dimple is the perfect match for him, but she’s got other plans…

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jenny Han and Nicola Yoon, WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI is a frothy, funny contemporary romance set at a coding convention in San Francisco over one exciting summer. Told from the dual perspectives of two Indian American protagonists, Dimple is fighting her family traditions while Rishi couldn’t be happier to follow in the footsteps of his parents. Could sparks fly between this odd couple, or is this matchmaking attempt doomed to fail?

my thoughts

Dimple Shah’s ambitions include going to university, conquering the tech world and definitely not marrying someone and settling down (much to her mother’s dismay). Meanwhile, Rishi Patel is a follower of tradition and quite loyal to his family, which thinks that he and Dimple are perfectly matched. The two are polar opposites, but it’s also true that opposites attract, isn’t it?

When Dimple Met Rishi is in my top 5 most anticipated releases for this year. The premise, the cover, the title – it all drew me. I knew I had to get my hands on this book asap. And sure, I’m not a huge contemporary fan, but I do love dorks falling in love. Much like Rishi, I’m a romantic (but only when it comes to books, mind you.) I read this book in a day and completely fell in love.

The narrative perfectly matches the book’s contemporary setting – it’s light, funny and hits you in all the right places. And listen, there may be a wide-spread roll-your-eyes-and-groan-at-the-sight hate toward clichés, but I love them. Especially when they’re applied with a personal touch of creativity. There’s so many things that happen in this book, so many tropes hit right on the head, and I loved them all. Sandhya Menon takes a bunch of clichés and makes them her own.

And while there may be a lot of your typical contemporary book tropes, but this is definitely a character driven book. Dimple is a firework – her character is an explosion of colours that leaves you in awe. She’s incredibly nuanced and complex and simply beautiful. Her resolve radiates off the page and, right off the bat, convinces you how hard-working and determined Dimple really is. And while Rishi may be her opposite, but he’s just as nuanced and strong as she is. His love and respect for family and tradition are inspiring. Through Dimple and Rishi you see two sides of the same coin – so different, yet alike in their strength.

I’m beginning to sound redundant with all this opposites attract talk, but Dimple and Rishi’s characters fit so well together. They are different enough so it’s not always smooth sailing, but are also alike enough to recognize themselves in the other. Both are headstrong characters that know how to stand their ground, but also when to compromise. There’s really never a dull moment with these two. I had so much fun getting to know them as they got to know each other.

Overall, When Dimple Met Rishi is a wonderful book full of love, laughs, some difficulties and quite a lot of strength. It’s both a homage to tradition and a look forward. You’re not told which is right and which is wrong, because neither is. You just need to find a balance. This book does exactly that.

(Also, thank you, Sandhya Menon, for the Bollywood dance! You filled my heart right up.)

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon [Review]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s