Reviews

Geekerella by Ashley Poston [Review]

Title: Geekerella
Author: Ashley Poston
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Retelling
Format: eBook
Publisher: Quirk Books
Release Date: April 4th, 2017
Goodreads Summary:

print-signs-opening-quotesCinderella goes to the con in this fandom-fueled twist on the classic fairy tale.

Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom. Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.

 

my thoughts

Elle Wittimer grew up with Starfield, the space tv show saga that her father loved so much. The show is also Elle’s last remaining connection to him. Her life hasn’t been easy since his passing, but Elle’s spirit is not broken – she’s determined to find a way out. The chance presents itself in the form of a cosplay contest’s grand prize. Meanwhile, Darien Freeman has just been cast in a Starfield reboot – his dream come true. Unfortunately, he has to remain aloof, which earns him the fandom’s burning hatred. The pressure seems almost too much for him, until he meets someone who turns his world around.

Geekerella is your typical contemporary read with a twist of fandom culture. I first heard about it when it released and I was pretty certain the chances of me picking it up were slim. Fast-forward to a few weeks later – lo and behold, I picked it up. I had no real expectations, so I definitely did not think that I would end up loving it so much. Geekerella also kept me company when I was at my worst and I will forever be grateful.

The writing style is exactly would you would expect out of a YA contemporary read – light and very easy to follow. We get a dual POV which I’m usually weary of, but the two narratives here don’t overflow and it’s easy to tell whose head you’re currently in. Don’t get me wrong, the writing is not entirely perfect, but it flows so well you soon forget about the cons. It also reads really quickly and I found myself at the end sooner that I would’ve liked.

I really would like to see more of the characters, I felt like I didn’t get enough time with them. It wasn’t my plan to get so attached, yet here I am. Elle and Darien are wonderful narrators, I love how easy it was for me to relate to them. Their characters complimented each other’s so well – the chemistry just flew off the page. Quite honestly, they met practically all my requirements for peak ship material.

I can’t go without mentioning the secondary cast, because honestly, this book would not be the same without them. Sage was such a delight, Elle’s the luckiest to have her as a best friend. I’m honestly jealous. (Also, Ms. Poston, where is Sage’s own spin-off? I would pay good money to read a whole book about her.) The way the step-sisters are written in this is so refreshing, I loved the approach the author takes with them. Cal is the sweetest bean, she must be protected at all costs.

There has to be more about these characters, we definitely don’t get enough and I feel there’s countless more stories to be told about them. This review is a hand-written, wax-sealed plea to Ms. Poston to write more in this universe.

Now for a mandatory paragraph in which I express how thankful I am for the accurate description of the fandom community. Unlike some other novels that I’ve read that have painted fandom people as hermits who hiss at people from dark corners and suffer from the special snowflake syndrome, Geekerella manages to capture the true essence of being a, well… geek. It made reading this book all the more enjoyable.

As I said somewhere above – I did not expect to love this book so much. A classic novel Geekerella is not, but what it is is a wonderful contemporary novel that you read when you want to lighten your load and just relax. I know this story hasn’t been everyone’s cup of tea, but I found it to be exactly what I was looking for.

Leave a Reply

