Reviews

Geekerella by Ashley Poston [Review]

Title: Geekerella
Author: Ashley Poston
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Retelling
Format: eBook
Publisher: Quirk Books
Release Date: April 4th, 2017
Goodreads Summary:

print-signs-opening-quotesCinderella goes to the con in this fandom-fueled twist on the classic fairy tale.

Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom. Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.

 

my thoughts

Elle Wittimer grew up with Starfield, the space tv show saga that her father loved so much. The show is also Elle’s last remaining connection to him. Her life hasn’t been easy since his passing, but Elle’s spirit is not broken – she’s determined to find a way out. The chance presents itself in the form of a cosplay contest’s grand prize. Meanwhile, Darien Freeman has just been cast in a Starfield reboot – his dream come true. Unfortunately, he has to remain aloof, which earns him the fandom’s burning hatred. The pressure seems almost too much for him, until he meets someone who turns his world around.

Geekerella is your typical contemporary read with a twist of fandom culture. I first heard about it when it released and I was pretty certain the chances of me picking it up were slim. Fast-forward to a few weeks later – lo and behold, I picked it up. I had no real expectations, so I definitely did not think that I would end up loving it so much. Geekerella also kept me company when I was at my worst and I will forever be grateful. Continue reading “Geekerella by Ashley Poston [Review]”

Reviews

City of Saints & Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson [Review]

35078117

Title: City of Saints & Thieves
Author: Natalie C. Anderson
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Mystery,  Thriller
Format: eBook
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
Release Date: July 6th, 2017 (UK)
Source: NetGalley
Goodreads Summary:

Street-thief Tina breaks in to the luxurious house where her mother was killed to steal from Mr. Greyhill and nail him for her mother’s murder. She is caught red-handed.

Saved by Mr. Greyhill’s gorgeous son, Michael, the pair set in motion a cascade of dangerous events that lead them deeper into the mystery, and reveal dark and shocking secrets from Tina’s past.

Tina and her mother fled the Congo years ago as refugees, trading the uncertain danger of their besieged village for a new, safer life in the bustling Kenyan metropolis. The corruption and politics of the Congo, and the gangster world of Sangui City, are behind Tina’s mother’s downfall. Is Tina tough enough to find the truth and bring the killer to justice?

my thoughts

Following her mother’s death, Tina has to learn how to take care of her younger sister and herself, all the while living off the streets in Sangui City. As part of the latest mission the local gang she’s part of has embarked on, Tina must infiltrate the house of the man (presumably) responsible for her mother’s murder. The mission, however, is compromised and Tina must now face a past she has no wish to go back to. Determined to find out the truth about that night, she embarks on a journey to find out who her mother really was and what really happened to her.

I’ve sat on this review for two weeks now and I’m still not sure how to write it so it might end up being all over the place. City of Saints & Thieves is definitely not a bad book – it’s enjoyable and attention-grabbing. My conflicted feelings may be caused by the fact I read this while in a not-so-good place, but for the most part it really did entertain me. Continue reading “City of Saints & Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson [Review]”

Reviews

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon [Review]

34793794

Title: When Dimple Met Rishi
Author: Sandhya Menon
Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Format: eBook
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Release Date: June 1st, 2017 (UK)
Source: NetGalley
Goodreads Summary:

Meet Dimple.

Her main aim in life is to escape her traditional parents, get to university and begin her plan for tech world domination.

Meet Rishi.

He’s rich, good-looking and a hopeless romantic. His parents think Dimple is the perfect match for him, but she’s got other plans…

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jenny Han and Nicola Yoon, WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI is a frothy, funny contemporary romance set at a coding convention in San Francisco over one exciting summer. Told from the dual perspectives of two Indian American protagonists, Dimple is fighting her family traditions while Rishi couldn’t be happier to follow in the footsteps of his parents. Could sparks fly between this odd couple, or is this matchmaking attempt doomed to fail?

my thoughts

Dimple Shah’s ambitions include going to university, conquering the tech world and definitely not marrying someone and settling down (much to her mother’s dismay). Meanwhile, Rishi Patel is a follower of tradition and quite loyal to his family, which thinks that he and Dimple are perfectly matched. The two are polar opposites, but it’s also true that opposites attract, isn’t it?

When Dimple Met Rishi is in my top 5 most anticipated releases for this year. The premise, the cover, the title – it all drew me. I knew I had to get my hands on this book asap. And sure, I’m not a huge contemporary fan, but I do love dorks falling in love. Much like Rishi, I’m a romantic (but only when it comes to books, mind you.) I read this book in a day and completely fell in love. Continue reading “When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon [Review]”

Monthly Wrap Up

Books I read in April [Wrap Up #1]

This blog is as consistent as I am in everything in life so why not just go wild, eh? I read a bunch of books this month that I didn’t dedicate solo reviews for which makes this wrap up post the perfect opportunity to share my thoughts.

Honestly, April was a good reading month for me. I managed to read an entirety of five books, one novella and one comic book. It may not sound like a lot to you, but after barely maintaining an average of one book per month last year, this feels like a huge victory. Without further ado, let’s move on to the actual books: Continue reading “Books I read in April [Wrap Up #1]”

Reviews

Death And Night by Roshani Chokshi [Review]

33965619

Title: Death And Night
Author: Roshani Chokshi
Series: The Star-Touched Queen #0.5
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: eBook, 115 pages
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Release Date: April 26th, 2016
Source: NetGalley
Goodreads Summary:

print-signs-opening-quotesBefore The Star-Touched Queen there was only Death and Night.

He was Lord of Death, cursed never to love. She was Night incarnate, destined to stay alone. After a chance meeting, they wonder if, perhaps, they could be meant for more. But danger crouches in their paths, and the choices they make will set them on a journey that will span lifetimes.

my thoughts

Before they donned the names of Amar and Maya, they were Death and Night – both destined to loneliness like a coat. Death is determined never to love as a curse looms upon him. Soon however it is clear that he cannot go without a wife. He makes a proposal to girl with constellations on her skin and thus begins a game that will have them chase each other across countless lifetimes.

I read The Star-Touched Queen practically the day it came out and breezed through it. Despite the little issues I had with it, it instantly became one of my favourites. I fell in love with everything – the world, the characters, the writing. The only big issue I had was that it was a stand-alone meaning we’re not getting any more of Maya and Amar. You can probably imagine how I felt when I found out about Death and Night. I’m going to try and keep this review short since this is a short novella, but I make no promises. Meanwhile, you can read my full thoughts on The Star-Touched Queen here. Continue reading “Death And Night by Roshani Chokshi [Review]”

Reviews

Flame In The Mist by Renée Ahdieh [Review]

23308087

Title: Flame In The Mist
Author: Renée Ahdieh
Series:  Flame In The Mist #1
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: eBook
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Release Date: May 16th, 2017
Source: NetGalley
Goodreads Summary:

print-signs-opening-quotesMariko has always known that being a woman means she’s not in control of her own fate. But Mariko is the daughter of a prominent samurai and a cunning alchemist in her own right, and she refuses to be ignored. When she is ambushed by a group of bandits known as the Black Clan enroute to a political marriage to Minamoto Raiden – the emperor’s son – Mariko realises she has two choices: she can wait to be rescued… or she can take matters into her own hands, hunt down the clan and find the person who wants her dead.

Disguising herself as a peasant boy, Mariko infiltrates the Black Clan’s hideout and befriends their leader, the rebel ronin Ranmaru, and his second-in-command, Okami. Ranmaru and Okami warm to Mariko, impressed by her intellect and ingenuity. But as Mariko gets closer to the Black Clan, she uncovers a dark history of secrets that will force her to question everything she’s ever known.

my thoughts

Hattori Mariko is promised to Minamoto Raiden, one of the emperor’s sons, as a political marriage. On the way to the palace, Mariko’s convoy is attacked and her entourage killed by the notorious Black Clan. Mariko was never meant to reach the imperial city as someone had ordered her to be killed. Determined to find out who and why, she disguises herself as a boy and infiltrates the Black Clan. There Mariko is forced to face many truths, lies and her own conflicting feelings.

Flame In The Mist is definitely a top priority 2017 read of mine. Not to sound dramatic but I was on it like a fly when it popped up on NetGalley. Being a huge fan of Renée Ahdieh’s other books, there really was no question whether I’d read this or not. I started this book fully expecting to adore it. That’s why it’s so hard to say that it didn’t really meet my expectations. Continue reading “Flame In The Mist by Renée Ahdieh [Review]”

Tags

The ‘School Subjects’ Book Tag

Heyo! I was tagged by TheNeverEndingStory to do the School Subjects book tag. This is a first for my blog, which is incredibly exciting! Thank you so much, Leanne, for the tag! You should absolutely go check out her own School Subjects tag and, while you’re there, her whole blog, too. *wink wink*

This tag was originally created by Not-So-Modern Girl, so remember to check out her post (and blog) as well!

Just to clarify, I know you can choose films/shows on certain subjects, but I’m going to be keeping it strictly book-ish. So without further ado, let’s get on with the subjects: Continue reading “The ‘School Subjects’ Book Tag”